Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bkwyrme

Fig tree suggestions?

bookwyrme
12 years ago

I'm going to be moving soon to a nice zone 9 area, and I'm thinking of growing a fig tree. At present, I'm pretty much completely ignorant about the trees though, so I'd appreciate some guidance on

1) Size: I'm hoping for a smaller fruiting variety with good flavor.

2) Invasiveness: How deep do the roots grow and how much do I need to worry about sidewalks/foundations/plumbing?

3) General guidance: Any particular books or websites you'd recommend for a complete beginner in the fig (or any fruit tree) realm?

Comments (10)

• kumquat1
    12 years ago

Will you be living in a muggy, rainy, soupy area, such as Florida or Louisiana, where new crackers get stale when unopened? Or will you be in an arid environment?

• bookwyrme
    Original Author
    12 years ago

It's in Southern California. The website I looked at listed 12.95 inches of rain a year. I know summers are quite dry, rain-wise, humidity is moderate.

• c6r1s
    12 years ago

you can get whatever kind you can find size and fruiting power is all based on you if you want small with lots of fruit a celeste or Brunswick type would do best but anything you can find is better than none, as far as rooting take the tree and turn it up side down and that is your root system but it will only be 1 ft deep so they are not to bad at land raising, or you can always grow in pot to keep.small and not worry about roots

• King.Fig
    12 years ago

In zone 9 you will have many varieties of figs to choose from. If you will be planting only one tree for eating fresh figs, I would suggest a Violet de Bordeaux or a LSU Purple. Both of these figs taste real good. The LSU Purple fig can produce three crop of figs per season in a zone 9 climate....i.e. it will produce figs all summer long.

• bookwyrme
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Yes, looking for fresh figs.