Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tavernafig78

Would love some fig cutting rooting guidance please.

TavernaFig78
9 years ago

Hello all I am new to the rooting methods for fig cuttings and I'm giving it a shot to see what happens. Normally with my existing trees I just build soil up around the base of the tree over the bottoms of all the branching out trunks and in fall pull back the dirt and remove them with roots already on them. So I've read almost all 10 billion post on ways people do this rooting method and combined them all (it feels like) ill describe and post pics if I can figure out how to do it as this is my first post ever but can anyone tell me if this is over kill or not enough or if I should change it up a bit would be great. Ok so here it goes....
I have a 15/20 gallon frosted side plastic tote with a sheet of thin glass going over the top of it completely covering it acting as a clear lid. On the glass is empty bucket ontop of a towel covering 1/2 the light Rays from getting into the tote with 2 250w frosted blue top grow lights (ambient light bulbs) that one stays on for about 12 hours during the day and the second kicks on for about 4 hours around noon both on timers along with a heat mat I bought that came with a seeding kit stating it heats up 10/20 degrees over the ambient room temps that is also on a dusk till dawn sensor timer so it's not making it too hot during the day and keeps it about 70 overnight. ( I live near Chicago (Plainfield) and is winter here and because my townhome is all hard wood floors the temp never really stays steady and my grow rooms floor is right above the garage) I also have a digital temp and humidity reader states constant 99% humid with lid on and anywhere from 68/79 degrees depending on lid and time of day.

SO what's in the box???