Return to the Fig Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Resources for Selling Plants at Farmer's Market

Posted by geoffs_ri 6 (My Page) on
Tue, Jan 24, 12 at 9:30

I'm a novice in growing figs, so pardon my ignorance. I'm considering selling rooted and potted fig cuttings at a local farmer's market. I'm considering doing it for the fun of it and to try to maybe make a few bucks. I've never done this and so I have a lot of questions.

I'd appreciate any resources in this forum, online, or in books that might help me decide whether to pursue this?

Some questions I have involve...
1. How old to sell plants...does it make sense to sell plants in the summer/fall that were rooted that same spring?

2. Pricing for first year, second year, etc. plants?

3. Informational handouts for buyers living in zone 6?

4. Cuttings come from an in-ground plant that I received as a gift several years ago. Do I need to be concerned about copyright protection (maybe that's not the right term) related to making money from the original plant that someone else might have developed? I think that this is an issue, for example, for Monsanto corn and maybe for plants bred for sale at places like Home Depot. Not that I'm worried about getting busted, but I'd like to be considerate of others' hard work.

5. I've also been successful with air layering. Is this a better option?

6. Any other things that I'm not thinking about.

Thanks for any directions to resources and suggestions here.
Geoff

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Resources for Selling Plants at Farmer's Market