Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
loslunasfarms

Root Knot Nematodes RKN Control (organic)

loslunasfarms
15 years ago

Well, since I have already discussed the "NAPALM" chemical aka temik for control of nematodes, I figured that I would now thing of more natural way of controlling RKN in pot culture.

I just started playing with Neem oil for control of fungus gnats. MAN, I hate those things. I have probabbly lost about 100 cuttings so far to those &**&^^ things. Well, after reading Dr Taplas musings/comments on Neem, I wondered if it can be used for RKN.

It seems neem oil does have an effect on RKN. I know some of have trees in pots that we are going to pitch due to RKN; I know 4 trees I just found that have RKN, which were purchased at a local nursery. Well, I my just have to try a drench, root dip, and any other ideas? (The heat treatment works great.) Can you imagine saving a tree from RKN? Any who, just thought I would let some of the great minds on the forum, mull this over.

Here is what I have found:

http://www.nap.edu/openbook.php?record_id=1924&page=51

Effects on Other Organisms

Although neem's effects on pestiferous insects are by far the best known, the tree's various products can influence other pest organisms as well. In the long run, these may well prove the most important of all. At present, however, the effects on noninsect pests are poorly understood. This chapter highlights some of the findings to date.

NEMATODES

Neem products affect various types of nematodes. This may be significant because certain of these thread worms are among the most devastating agricultural pests and are also among the most difficult to control. In addition, an increasing number of synthetic nematocides have had to be withdrawn from the market for toxicological reasons.