Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
louky_gw

cuttings not happy, Help??

louky
12 years ago

I am a complete newbie to fig propagation and didn't think to research this forum prior to taking my cuttings. I took the cuttings from my Celeste and BT at the end of January, probably too early but as most places, we had a VERY strange winter. I used rooting hormone, potting soil, bottom heat, with a cover, and planted in a bulk container, transplanting to individual pots after 4 weeks. They all had roots, but they are dropping their leaves at a certain size. They are all still alive, trying to make leaves, but languishing in my greenhouse. Do I need to feed these at this point? Maybe too much water? Any help is greatly appreciated, I really want to save these guys! Thanks in advance.

Comments (6)

• timmy2green
    12 years ago

Considering all of the rules of thumb you broke, it's impressive they're alive. I usually struggle at the same point. I would say don't fertilize based on all I've read. Regarding water can you give an idea how much you used? How wet is the mix?

• louky
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Timmy: Thanks for the prompt response. I would say the mix is wet to very wet. I used Metro Mix 360, a fine grained potting soil because it was what I had. I probably overwatered when I sensed they weren't doing well. Would repotting to a dryer mix be helpful at this point?

• Rob23b
    12 years ago

Sometimes the top gets ahead of the bottom. When this happens, the cutting's response is to sacrifice the leaves for its overall well being.