Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bart1_gw

Fig selection help needed

bart1
13 years ago

I live in northern Virginia in the (semi) mountains. I'm probably in the cold end of Zone 7 and the warm end of Zone 6. The temps get down to the single digits every year.

I'm new to fig growing, but would like to get a couple varieties going this year. I'm thinking of Hardy Chicago for outside and Petite Negri for container growth. I'd like to get at least one more for outdoor growth.

I was thinking of maybe Lattarulla as "Edible Landscaping" says is ripens in their nursery which is only about 90 minutes from me. The other 2 choices I had were Celeste or Brown Turkey. What do you think about any of those three for outdoor growth? I'm trying to have the figs be as different as possible in all regards - color, taste and harvest time, so for instance, if Celeste and Hardy Chicago taste pretty much the same and both come in in early July, I wouldn't want to grow them both.

So what do you think? Are my two picks of Hardy Chicago and Petite Negri good ones? What other outdoor fig should I try?

Thanks!

Bart

Comments (9)

• girlbug2
    13 years ago

For what it's worth--taste-wise, Lattarulla is very nice and ripened well for me last year in a pot. Last summer had cooler than usual weather patterns, but I still got good-flavored figs from Lattarulla. This year, I'm planting it out in the ground as part of a 3 in 1 planting with a Janice Seedless Kadota and a Peter's Honey.

Petite Negri in my past experience is a good container fig as it stays truly dwarfed. The flavor as I remember it from 9 or so years ago is sweet with a rich, somewhat acidic undertone. I liked it very much, but killed my fig by letting it go too long without water in a clay pot--it was fried by the end of that summer :(.

Of course all this is from a different zone than yours, but there ya go :)

• bart1
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks girlbug!