Return to the Fig Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Dark figs vs other (green, yellow, white)

Posted by alpharetta z7 GA (My Page) on
Sun, Mar 27, 11 at 13:56

Hello,

I am a newbie with fig growing. I have one ignorant question: Which fig will have better health properties: Dark (black, brown, purple) OR other (Green, Yellow, White). Just like the grapes: Dark grapes are better for your health. Just like the wine: Red wine will improve the heart condition. Now how about the figs?

Thanks
Alpharetta

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Dark figs vs other (green, yellow, white)

Actually it was very good question! I Love both (and shades in between) figs, I would wonder, Figs actually any of them are very very healthy for the body, any of them, they have great nutritional value, excellent source of fiber!

o

Well :If it is white or black it doesn't matter a lot!
If it is dark red inside or clear amber (inside),it does matter.
The same beneficial,substances, that exist in Black grapes,in larger quantities,also exist in the very dark red interior fig fruits,in my opinion.
Personally,I fill that way,and prefer dark red interior,and have no preference about the exterior.
On the other hand,Dark,and black (on exterior)fig fruits ripe sooner than white figs when presented with cooler Summer,outside the Ideal mediteranian climates.
So one have to choose according to climate too,what will work best ,in what climate,in order to get totally ripe fruits,with maximum taste and flavor they can be.

o

Excellent thought and ideas. Thanks!
Now the next question: I want some fig that has big fruit size but dwarf growing, and sweet/heavy bearing of course, so I can grow in the pot. Could you please recommend some? My zone is 7 Atlanta GA.

Thanks again.

o

im new to figs but from what i've read Black Jack would fit your criteria.

o