Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
eciton_gw

coldest winter in record...dead figs?

eciton
10 years ago

How do we tell if the in ground figs ate it this winter? We have several hardy Chicago, sals black? And a couple unknown white fig varieties. Vary from 1 yr to 3 yes old. Any exposed branches snap off like dry twigs but are green inside. A couple tiny ones had turned black and shriveled up but that was not common.

Just wondering if there's any way to tell if they will come back, hate to lose 14 fig trees. We' ve never had winters this cold (down to 0 several days)

I know I can just wait and see but you know...

Comments (30)

• bronxfigs: New York City/7b
    10 years ago

I live in NYC, Zone 7-b, and I have been growing figs since 2007, in large, 18-gallon containers. This was the worst winter in my recent memory, as far as the freezing, dry winds, and very low temperatures. Too cold, too quickly, too early, and, for too long.

I have a sinking feeling in the pit of my stomach that most, if not all, my figs trees have been killed. Why? I'm starting to see the tell-tale signs of freeze-burn on the exposed branches, along with the rusty coloration that twigs get when they are dead. In the past the bark along the twigs remained a dark grey and had a greenish undertone when wet. Not so this year. The branches and buds look dry, and very crispy. The bark layer also looks a little wrinkled, and when scratched, the green looks pale and not very juicy. Not good signs.

I usually store my trees in an unheated shed, but this year, I got caught sleeping, and the trees froze solid before they had a chance to really harden-off before I got them in the shed. Too little, too late. I think my trees got freeze-burned way back in December-'13. The rest of the winter that followed, sealed the deal.

The next few weeks will tell the rest of the story. I have a feeling I will be shopping for new trees. Maybe if I'm lucky, some new growth may sprout from the roots.