Return to the Fig Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Closed eye varieties

Posted by bonsaist Z6/ Bethlehem, Pa (My Page) on
Tue, Mar 30, 10 at 19:00

No doubt that closed eye varieties are suitable for the humid and rainy climates. Many beginners find it hard to find a list of closed eye varieties. In your experience which varieties do you know have a closed eye?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Closed eye varieties

my strawberry verte has a closed eye.

o

Of course the Belle of the South "Celeste" is the local favorite in Louisiana because of it's closed eye and sweetness.
"gene"

o

Now you have touched upon a subject matter that is dear to me and at the very heart of my fig research activities. One of my main goals is to find the BEST cultivars for growing in the rainy, hot, humid climate of South Louisiana. I am currently studying the growing and fruiting characteristics of many different cultivars and several hundred in-ground fig trees.

A century ago, fig trials were conducted at the test orchards at LSU (still on going to this day) and Celeste was hands down determined to be the BEST fig for growing in my area. That's because of its excellent taste, good cooking qualities, rain tolerance, and its bug resistance due to its completely CLOSED eye. A closed eyed fig will not allow water or bugs entrance to the inside of a fig through the eye. A fig that is bug resistant will not sour very easily while it it on the tree.