Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rickjames_gw

Should I re-pot?

rickjames
18 years ago

Hi everyone,

I am new to figs, and yesterday I bought an Osbourne's Prolific. It's approximarely 5 feet tall including the #5 container that it is planted in; looks nice and sturdy. I am planning to keep it in a container permanently, and I was going to move it into a somewhat larger container as well as change the potting media (was gonna pretty much bare-root it). However, when I went to do this, it looks like that the buds on the tree are starting to swell and break dormancy. Should I just leave it alone at this point?Or should I just move it to the new container intact instead--and then bare-root it next year?

I am concerned because it really seems like such a small container for a tall tree. I don't mind the container, and I know that figs apparently tolerate container confinement well, but I don't think the current soil is top-notch either (I'm always a little concerned about compaction issues).

TIA.

Comments (16)

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    18 years ago

You are safe to repot now if you choose, so long as tree is not in leaf. The sooner you root-prune, the more manageable your roots will be in the future. I know some do not root-prune, only pot up, but it is much better for continued vitality and development if you get into a 2 or 3 year bare-root/root pruning cycle on deciduous trees. Aside from improved vitality, it also allows you to maintain the tree in much smaller volumes of soil (same container for a good # of years). I can lay out some of the reasons why root-pruning when repotting is the best approach to long term woody plantings if you like.

Al

• girlfromthegarden
    18 years ago

Al, can you describe (in one of your crisp visuals) what the root mass might look like on an unpruned plant that you're planning to renovate this way, and then the "after" desired look? Here's my own dilemma from a novice standpoint: