Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fleeben

Still possible to get cuttings for 2012?

Fleeben
11 years ago

I'm new to figs and after reading incessantly about fig container culture, root pruning, and figs in general I have purchased three large trees which I'm going to pot up in 15 gallon containers.

The problem is the more I read about figs the more entranced I become. I have a list of varieties which I would eventually like to obtain. Obviously for practical reasons (limited selection at my local nurseries) and those of cost really I've decided the best way to satisfy my desire to grow more of these beautiful plants is to get cuttings and propagate those.

After doing some reading it seems like the best place to get cuttings is the annual UCD program. While I am sure I will take advantage of the program, is there anywhere where I can still get moderately priced fig cuttings for this year?

Comments (10)

• igo4fish
    11 years ago

try ebay, figs4fun.com, or just post what you are looking for here. Good luck!

• sweet_lemon
    11 years ago

Realistically, I think it's a little late to be able to get more than dregs of cuttings. You can try ebay, though you have to be careful about dealers there. And any cuttings that have been refrigerated can be a bit stale by now. You can ask here and elsewhere, but it is often considered rude for new people to come along and immediately to ask for cuttings.

But, what you can do is to learn as much as you can about successfully making, rooting and nurturing cuttings. Look around in your own area for existing fig trees, and regardless of the variety, ask the owner for cuttings and try your hand at it. They won't be the same as dormant cuttings, but learning is learning and come cutting season, you can hit the ground running.

Good luck.

• Fleeben
    Original Author
    11 years ago