Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bedtime_gw

Chicago hardy fig tree - Is this container too big?

bedtime
10 years ago

I purchased a 2 gallon chicago hardy fig tree. It measured 34" in the original container (measured from tip to bottom of the container). It was pot bound with massive roots coming out all holes so I repotted it in this terra cotta container that measures 16" diagonal. The mix is 1:1 potting soil and perlite.

Is this container too big? How long before growth usually starts?

Anyways I'm new to figs.

Comments (27)

• fignewbies
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hi,

The container looks big for the fig tree!
    I would add a "The Plant Caddy":
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NKsAu2xUy3U
    so it will be much easier (better for the back) to move this pot and
    easier to clean the area around the pot!

• bedtime
    Original Author
    10 years ago

fignewbies,

Thanx for the link. Right now carrying it around is not a bother so I'm okay.

So the pot is too big? I'll see about getting one that is abit smaller then. Is there any way to speed up budding?

• ottawan_z5a
    10 years ago

You don't need to change the pot.

Your fig is growing like a whip. You need it to branch out at this stage. To make it branch out you need to prune off the top (between 4 to 6 top nodes). You can use the cutting to root and have one additional plant.

• bedtime
    Original Author
    10 years ago

ottawan_z5a,

I forgot to post my zone but I'm in Canada too. :)

As for the whip like growth, I actually prefer it. my plan is to make this a decently tall tree, about 6 - 7 feet. I'd rather have the growth be in the height instead but I'm new and I don't know if this is possible. Will there be any consequences to doing this, such as decreased crop...

• soaht
    10 years ago