Return to the Fig Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Photo-oxidation & Leaf drop, what do do now?

Posted by frog_gidget 7a (My Page) on
Mon, Apr 26, 10 at 12:29

Hi there, fig lovers,

I have 2 figs that broke dormancy early, and despite my best efforts to harden off and expose them slowly to sunlight, the leaves are distressed, probably from photo-oxidation. Some are falling off, but i see no new leaves forming to take their place. In another post, I read about seaweed emulsion to help with the stress. What else should i be putting on the containers at this point to help?

I'm brand new at this, and I'd hate to lose these!

thanks,
mandie

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Photo-oxidation & Leaf drop, what do do now?

• Posted by tapla z5b-6a MI (My Page) on
    Mon, Apr 26, 10 at 14:54

Hi, Mandie. If you're interested in what happens during photo-oxidation: high light intensity levels w/o adequate amounts of protective pigments present can cause chlorophyll molecules to rise to a more excited state than normal. If light levels are high enough, the energy that is released as electrons in molecules return to their normal energy state may be sufficient to form oxygen (O2) radicals from regular O2. These O2 radicals are extremely reactive particles that readily destroy chlorophyll molecules. (This is the same O- radical that causes rapid oxidation [bleaching] in organic molecules when we apply H2O2 [hydrogen peroxide]). Evidence of the process is seen in a bleached or whitish appearance of the leaves, and is often referred to as peroxidation.