Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jajada_gw

Sick Small Deformed Leaves on my Fig Trees?

jajada
13 years ago

Hello,,

Was hoping someone could help me diagnose a problem with the fig tress on our property. We moved in a year ago and want to start selling the figs we get from an existing dozen trees or so through our local CSA.

In trying to learn about figs (I have no experience at all) I of course went and took a really good look at our trees. One is huge and covered with figs. The others all seem to suffer from something that attacks the leaves and resultingly those trees aren't carrying a fraction of the fruit I see on the healthy one, also the fruits are smaller. The suffering trees have retarded/deformed/small/discolored leaf growth which seems to be the cause of all this. I have included some pictures, I hope someone can shed some light on this. If all my trees produced like the healthy one we would be rolling in figs!!!!

Any help is much appreciated, thanks so much,

Dan

{{gwi:772192}}
{{gwi:772195}}
{{gwi:772199}}
{{gwi:772202}}
{{gwi:772205}}
{{gwi:772207}}
{{gwi:772209}}
{{gwi:772211}}

Comments (11)

• ejp3
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Could be a real bad case of fig mosaic virus. What varieties are they? r

• danab_z9_la
    13 years ago

Your tree is suffering from fig mosaic virus.

Dan

• dieseler
    13 years ago

Hi Jajada,
    your pictures show FMV, classic case is mottled leaves that are raised like bubbles, plant leaves in what appears to be a lack of chlorophyll, badly deformed looking leaves,or tiny darker green spots observed with a light from under leaf .
    You can click the link i posted last season.
    I showed FMV mild case and more severe case in a few of my plants.
    I see your in CA and the FMV can be transmitted thru some bugs and thru pruning shears also from one plant to another.