Return to the Fig Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
pollination for fig trees

Posted by saralee123 middle tennessee (My Page) on
Fri, Apr 19, 13 at 22:02

I bought some figs trees 4 years ago. According to the info tag on each one I needed to have 2 different varieties for pollination. I bought Brown Turkey and Celeste figs. Some of the trees died during the winter but had lost there tags so I don't know which ones I need to replace.

The next year I some of both varieties to make sure I had what I needed for pollination. OK, so this keeps going on and now I have about 10 fig trees and I don't know what kind they are. So the question is Can I tell them apart to know if I have two different kinds for pollination? Or is it even important to have different kinds? I'm afraid I'm a complete novice when it comes to figs. I just know I like to eat them and I need a source that I don't have to buy. Thank you for your help and patience.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: pollination for fig trees

Personally I don't think that you have to have different kinds.

My old tree is the only fig tree in may area and it produces great.

It might do better with cross pollination. But I don't think it's necessary.

o

Thanks for the info. I still have them potted in 5 gallon buckets so I can bring them in each year. Since I read the other post telling me how to plant outside and keep them alive through the winter I will be planting them out side soon. I appreciate your help. Maybe if they produce something this year (some of them are 5 years old) I will be able to tell what kind each is by the fruit. I guess well find out. Thanks again.

o

• Posted by mrclint z10SoCal Valley (My Page) on
    Sun, Apr 21, 13 at 13:29

Common figs such as the ones you (and the rest of us) are growing, do no not require cross pollination.