Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bonechickchris

Comparable Pics of First Time Heat Mat Use

bonechickchris
12 years ago

Hi everyone!

I just thought I would post pics in responce to the outcome of using a heatmat for the first time. Below is a link to the orginal thread to find the particulars of the experiment. All cuttings were from the same batch, and done at the same time. The pictures reveal my success with the baggie method compared to the bin with a heat mat. Again, I am not a pro, and just a beginner who thought I would share my results.

here are the particulars and results cut and pasted from the original post below:

"HI Guys!

I thought I would update here since all of you were so nice to take the time to share your information and suggestions with me on this thread!

Well, I have one heat mat ( only the size of a regular 72 cell seed starting Jiffy tray). After experimenting with a few different ways, I eventually took the heat mat and put it at the bottom (Inside) of a regular 68 quart sized bin. The heating pad was just a tiny bit smaller than the bottom, but seemed to be a good fit.

So, with cuttings I had more than one of, I put cuttings in perlite, and some in moss.

The other cuttings, I left in their baggie method baggies.

It has been about 3 weeks now since I have done so. To my surprise, I have had much sucess with the heating pad in the bin!

In the bin with the heating pad, I have several with full sets of leaves and roots already! Some of them could even be considered "small plants" already that is how much leaves they have gotten!

While most of the baggie method cuttings not in the bin only have some roots (if any)forming and only some green tips.

In the bin, cuttings in perilite did really good. Ones in the moss not so much.

However, you do have to open the bin every day and check to see if they are moist enough, or sometimes if they are too moist.

If you leave the top off for a period of time, I had to add water to the cups.