Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
budbackeast

starting figs from cuttings

budbackeast
11 years ago

When I was a kid, my dad started figs by cutting a branch and just stabbing it into the earth. Worked every time. I recently took some cutting and had to trim them down before preparing them. As an experiment, I cut them shorter and took the 'throw away stick pieces' and just stabbed them into a pots of commercial garden soil. Well, the ones I was nurturing failed, but here is a picture of the ones I wasn't planning to keep.

Maybe I'm just trying too hard or trying to be too clever in starting figs. The good old "stabbing-a-stick-into-the-ground" technique isn't doing so badly. Not what I really expected.

Comments (10)

• noss
    11 years ago

Well, Bud--That's great.

I'm not too good with cuttings, but I'm trying. I've stuck some cuttings into potting soil and they're on my carport, so we'll see what happens.

noss

• budbackeast
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Hey Noss,

Lafayette, LA, eh? I'm a Louisana guy trapped in a Florida suburb. I make gumbo, jambalaya and all that. Tell me, in Cajun Country, are there any recipes which include figs. You know, beyond sweet deserts and all. Is there a gumbo with figs?

• noss
    11 years ago

Aw, mais non, Sha, I don't have any savory recipes for figs, but I been tinkin--I bet dat fig jam wit some hot peppers, onions an' dat garlic would be reel tasty, yeah. ;)

If you wan', I could round up a buncha Cajun fellas an' dey could pole dem pirogues over near you an' rescue you from dat nasty place what holdin' you prisna. Jes say de word an' dey' be dere reel fas'.

noss

• budbackeast
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Hey noss,

I've been gone for maybe 30 years. You have the pronunciation down perfect.

I've been working on building a fig orchard, and I finally finished it yesterday. I'll make up a new posting now regarding it.

• caliloo
    11 years ago