Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
az_pamperedchef

Two New Figs

az_pamperedchef
10 years ago

This year I decided to purchase two more figs, making my collection a total of three. I have no experience growing figs and the info I get is from this forum, but I'm willing to try.

This year I got a Peter's Honey and a Panache (Tiger's Eye). I'm curious if anyone in AZ is growing these and what their experience is with them.

Comments (5)

• ottawan_z5a
    10 years ago

I grow both of these but up North in Ontrio with relatively shorter season for fig growing.
    My Peter Honey ripens earlier than Panachi which is known to be a relatively late rippening kind. But you have warm (hot) summer and long season so both should work out fine for you as long as you keep them happy with watering schedule in Arizona.

• centurion_
    10 years ago

Hi az_pamperedchef

Your trees look GREAT. But they need a little more protection their first year.

I live a couple hours to the north of you, but even up here, in my experience, a heavily mulched (as in 4-6 inches deep), and a WIDE protected root zone (as in...at least 18 inches out from the base of the tree...preferably more) go a long way towards combating the high temps we are about to experience.

Extending the radius of your planting circles will not only help you keep those roots moist (which you must do their first summer here), but will also keep them from baking when the soil starts to heat up.

Best of luck with them.

• bada_bing
    10 years ago