Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jolj

Working soil now to plant figs next year.

jolj
11 years ago

I have 3 figs in pots that I want to plant next Spring; in sandy, low pH soil of S.C.. What should I do NOW & in the coming months to get the 4' X 4' beds ready for the figs.

I am a composter, that is why I work beds the year before planting, when planing to add tree the the orchard.

Comments (11)

• budbackeast
    11 years ago

Hi jolj!

I used to live in Florence and Beaufort, so I know your soil there. Now I live in Florida, where it is just sand here. It doesn't even pretend to be soil!

I watched a great video called BACK TO EDEN VIDEO (at vimeo) and it changed how I do my yard. I've been growing figs in untended sand for a couple of years with mixed results. But now, I've dug them all up and put them into an organic orchard in my back yard. CLICK HERE to see my recently completed project. But keep in mind, I did not upgrade the sandy soil for my orchard. I suspect that I won't need to ever turn the soil again. Go watch that BACK TO EARTH VIDEO if you want to know why soil improvements might be redundant.

• jolj
    Original Author
    11 years ago

I have used organic gardening for 30 years.
    You should know that when you promote a video on 4 or 5 threads, then you are doing what is called SPAM.
    You have not said anything about your improvements, I have to go to your link to get any real information, that is known as a hook in salesmanship.
    Not a word about RKN or mulch.
    Thank you for your reply.

• jolj
    Original Author
    11 years ago

budbackeast I am sorry if I was hard on you, it just that the same thing happen to me. It was a warning, but rereading it, it sounds nasty to me.
    Your Figs look great, but a little close, guess you will have to prune them. You could root the trimmings.