Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kelly_gardener

Frost damage?

kelly-gardener
13 years ago

I have two figs, a Celeste and an LSU Purple, that I have been growing for over ten years. We are in an area that rarely gets a hard freeze, but this year we had several freezes and one period of several days when the temperatures dipped into the low 20's at night. During those times I covered the base of the trees with hay and blankets.

This spring, the figs budded out. Some branches grew leaves and some budded and failed. A portion of the branches that grew leaves have now had their leaves wither away. Only a few branches have leafed out and are bearing figs. This has occured on both trees. I have pruned some of the non-productive branches and get down into green wood on many of them. Not all are dead. I am very curious as to what has caused this problem. Is this typical of freeze damage or could it be something else?

Comments (4)

• tyler_la
    13 years ago

I've seen the same here in one of our fig groves. The LSU Purple have mostly been affected, although the Improved Celeste we have planted haven't wilted at all. I do think it was our unusually cold winter down here in southern LA. I guess the trees in this zone just aren't... accustomed to it. Now that they have experienced it, though, they should do well next time, if they're anything like our citrus in habit.

• danab_z9_la
    13 years ago

I've seen the same thing in my yard this year. In my case, it was caused by winter damage due to our unusually cold winter. Right now it is hot & the ground is very dry and I'm hose watering my in ground fig trees. I can't stress enough the IMPORTANCE of keeping the ground always moist around YOUNG in ground fig trees especially in our climate. Winter damaged older trees benefit from this too.

Dan

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    13 years ago