Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sunny2b_gw

evil weed eater

sunny2b
11 years ago

I'm new to GW and to growing figs. I bought and planted my first fig this spring. My son annihilated it with the weed eater. :( Is there any hope it will come back? It was doing so well and had grown a foot in the past few weeks. Now all that's left is a twig sticking out of the ground.

I'm buying my first house, and may have been a bit ambitious. I've always dreamed of growing my own foods and being self sufficient. I planted three apple trees, and my other son's dog thought one was a toy. I found it lying at the back door shredded. Sigh. My gardening hopes are literally withering away...

Comments (11)

• noss
    11 years ago

Hi Sunny,

Welcome to the fig forum.

You gotta watch those weed-whacking males--They just go nuts with those things, destroying everything in its path. :) (Just kidding--Sorta.....)

My husband has been chopping away at my orange tree in the front yard. He chewed through a little branch a foot above the soil, then stuck it back together with that black, tarry tree paint. The branch died.

You might try putting a good-sized ring of some kind around your fig tree and that would also help to hold in the mulch that fig trees like. The mulch would keep down the weeds and hold moisture in around the tree. Don't give up on the little stub. Clear the grass away from it and put some edging around it, with some mulch, as I said and. You might cut any ragged edges off the stump to help it heal, with some very sharp pruning shears and seal the cut edge with some candle wax. The wax would work well if there are any ragged edges that you can't trim off.

You Could also dig it up and put it in the right-sized pot.

Do you have any photos of the poor little tree you could show to us?

Do you know what kind of fig tree it is?

Good luck with your little tree.

noss

• budbackeast
    11 years ago

Fig trees with good roots are hardy. Yours might survive.