Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dancinglemons

Is there a fig doctor in the house?? Stella is sick!

dancinglemons
15 years ago

Hello all,

I just purchased this Stella fig for almost NO money. (see pics below) The nursery sold it to me at a steep discount and also gave me 30 days to return it if it dies or really starts dying. I am new to figs and wondered if there is anything I can do to bring Stella back from the brink of death. Right now she sits on my front steps and gets morning sun. I water every noon as the potting medium is very dry each day. The nursery had not fertilized this fig 'recently'. The potting medium appears to be some sort of chipped bark - it is very loose and airy. The card on the tree said Eastern Shore Nursery of Virginia. Please post any suggestions you may have. I will appreciate any and all help offered.

Thanks,

DL

Comments (19)

• chills71
    15 years ago

AS you've got nothing to lose, I would pop the plant out of the pot for a minute and look at the roots (white good, brown ok, black bad, little balls/nodules on the roots also bad). This will also give you an idea about how the potting mix is as well.

Worse comes to worse, get it to limp through the growing season and try rooting some cuttings.

~Chills

• hlyell
    15 years ago

I can't tell for sure, but it looks like there is some rust on the leaves. This usually means too much water. If the plant is stressed for some reason I would think twice about removing it from the pot. As Chills said, if you can get it to survive during the growing season you can repot it in a better medium for next spring. Unless the soil is dry down a couple inches in I would see how it does with less frequent watering. If it got stressed it might just come out of it and have a growth spurt soon.

• paully22
    15 years ago