Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brockstar3

Killing figs

brockstar3
11 years ago

I don't want to kill my figs BUT alas I think I have. I am new to figs and a lovely woman in Texas sent me an everbearing one with little figs on it....about 2' tall. Well, for the past month and a half we haven't had any rain and for at least 3 weeks temps over 100. I've watered my plants for about 30 mins either at dawn or dusk about every other day.

Friday the leaves fell off. The little green buds are still there but no leaves. What have I done wrong? This is my second attempt at figs. If this fails I may have to resort to stealing them from my neighbor's tree.

Les

Comments (10)

• noss
    11 years ago

Hello Les,

You must be related to me! I just tried to kill all my potted fig trees by giving them the wrong fertilizer. Thankfully, they have rallied and some are starting to put out new leaves.

Are your fig trees in the ground, or in a pot? Did you plant the trees in full sun, right away? Had the trees been used to the full sun, do you know?

I'm sure there will be answers to your problem from people here. Hang in there--And no stealin'. :)

noss

• polyphemus
    11 years ago

Can your figs swim? All joking aside you may have over watered them. My newly transplanted trees for this year are planted in a fairly dry location and are getting along very well with a couple of gallons of water every other day (about 2 minutes worth). Figs are not very tolerant to soil that is constantly wet.

• polyphemus
    11 years ago

By way of comparison let me offer the following example.I am located in South Alabama where up until the last 2 weeks the weather has been very dry. This year I cleaned off enough land to plant 42 fig trees about 2 feet tall and 24 blueberry bushes about 8 inches tall. I water them every other day with hose in hand walking down 4 rows....it takes me about 30 minutes.

• bronxfigs: New York City/7b
    11 years ago