Return to the Fig Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Fig tree, moving and cutting problems

Posted by oslofile oslofile (My Page) on
Tue, Jul 11, 06 at 11:22

I'm a novice to fig trees. I have two trees that were transplanted by me three years ago. They are hearty trees. I sold a house and before I could get to them the new owner dug them out with a back hoe. They were laying in the hot sun for 4 or 5 hours and there was no dirt on the roots at all. I put them in my truck threw some dirt on them and poured water on them. I planted them in a sandy clay soil and left them, except for an occasional watering. They survived and I planted one close to a lake and one not so close. The one nearest the lake is doing very nicely. Now, I am moving and I want to know what I must do to move the tree. It is over six feet tall and has numerous trunks. I want to get some cuttings to ensure that this tree survives. Any help would be appreciated. Also, I don't understand some of the lingo. such as the glass bottle. thanks in advance
Oslo in NC

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Fig tree, moving and cutting problems

o
RE: Fig tree, moving and cutting problems

Here are some excerpts from a series of emails to another lady back east recently, who is moving a tree next month from New Jersey to Florida.