Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
steve_digs

Rx for Potted Fig, Yellowing Leaves

steve_digs
17 years ago

Hello:

I planted a Black Spanish fig this spring in a pot 14" across by 1' tall (sorry, unclear what gallon size this is). In the past couple of days many of the leaves have begun to yellow and fall off.

From reading a 2005 post on soil mixes, my assumption is that the soil is too moist due to planting it in a mix with not enough aeration. Being a newbie, I didn't pay much attention to the soil. I *think* I planted it in 50% potting soil and 50% compost. I also wonder whether the pot is too big for an itty bitty plant, exacerbating the lack of aeration.

Two questions: Do knowledgeable fig gardeners have a better diagnosis? Since it's the hottest part of summer and repotting seems unwise, what should I do? (I'm planning to lay off the watering).

Any feedback greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Steve

Comments (8)

• girlfromthegarden
    17 years ago

Steve, I had similar problems with mine, but have turned them around through adding fertilizer and watching to keep moisture content stable. Since potting your fig, have you fertilized it at all? and has it had any heat or water stress within the past few weeks? we can help with an Rx better if we know what kind of conditions it's gone through. Mine had some hot days, not enough water, and definitely had a need for nutrients, which they weren't getting near enough of. The leaves started turning scroungy and falling off. I treated them with care, now many have new growth on them and look vastly improved. What's your fig been dealing with lately?

Sherry
    (the one in the "justbeentheredonethat" tshirt

• jonathan
    17 years ago

Steve, try using the cheap Steer Manure with compost that you get at Home Depot. It is 99 cents. I don't even mix that into the soil, I just leave a layer on the top, and water. Eventually, the nutrients will leach downwards into the root area with the water.