Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dechanique

Yellow mottled leaves - Celeste Fig

dechanique
10 years ago

I have a celeste fig I planted this year (about 3 months ago). It has been growing like crazy - but I noticed over the last few days the leaves have been turning mottled yellow.

I am in zone 7A, fig is planted in a bright, sunny spot. Our soil is pretty clay, but we dug out a huge hole for the tree and filled it with a lighter soil mix. This one is the only tree not in a raised bed and it seems to be the only one affected. Is it overwatering? I have to admit, I've been pretty generous with the water since it's been so hot out.. perhaps.. too generous. I've been watering daily due to the heat and since it is a new transplant

This is my first year with figs (or actually, any plants- we bought a house with land in december and planted many new trees in the spring)- any advice would be appreciated

Comments (10)

• dechanique
    Original Author
    10 years ago

additional photo

• dechanique
    Original Author
    10 years ago

photo of the full tree

• Clm128
    10 years ago

are u fertalizing? looks like it could be missing some nutrients. when u over water usually the tree sags and droops as well and looks the same as if u wernt watering at all. watering every day isnt so bad if the ground is drying out quickly and your not watering too much at one time.
    that said if your not fertalizing id start with that. and see what happens. if the leaves have been yellow for a while dont be suprised if the tree drops them as well.

hope that helps
    chris

• dechanique
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I've been using fish emulsion oil, but nothing else.

I have a second fig (a hardy chicago) that was planted in the same mix, only using fish emulsion oil, that does not have this problem

I have a soil testing kit, so maybe I'll do that after work today and see what's missing. Thanks for the advice!