Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rchukka

Need Help Growing Fig Tree

rchukka
12 years ago

We planted the below kadota fig back on March 3rd 2011, and it grew some leaves and three figs so far (2 tiny ones and 1 small), but the it's growth (leaves and height) seems to have stalled. The leaves seem little yellow, was wondering if somebody here can give little guidance on making it grow. Thanks.

We are in north texas and water it(soak) every other day, would appreciate any feedback. Thanks.

{{gwi:802608}}

{{gwi:802609}}

Comments (11)

• Karly30
    12 years ago

are you fertilizing it? you will definitely need to clear a circle of grass away under the tree.

• rchukka
    Original Author
    12 years ago

I havn't fertilized it after planting, do I just buy miracle-gro indoor-outdoor plant food and spray around the base and water?. How often do I need to do for this size plant?.

I saw somebody using Osmocote on this forum is that better?.

This is my first time planting and trying a grow any sort of tree. I will clear the grass around tomorrow.

• nkesh099
    12 years ago

Clear the grass around it (diameter of 3-4 feet). Mulch that area about 2 inches.
    REMEMBER, it's in the ground and you want your tree to have a deep root system so, the more mulch added = the shallower are the root system. They will not go deep instead they go towards the heavily mulched area.

You can fertilize it with Miracle Grow All purpose fertilizer (sold at any big box stores or walmart), once a week. Also, spread some SLOW release limestone and Osmocote ind/out fertilizer around the base of the tree.
    Make sure you use the Limestone. not, lime.
    You should stop fertilizing it by middle of Aug.

Good luck

• rchukka
    Original Author
    12 years ago