Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
riverman777

Will figs grow in Michigan?

riverman777
15 years ago

Greetings to all. I'm new to gardening and new to Michigan.

I'm from Florida, and enjoyed the fig preserves my mother would make. I bought a small place near Owosso, with some wonderful apple trees and such. If possible I would like to plant some figs up here, but I don't know a soul in these parts and not sure if this is possible. Thanks for any help. Michael

Comments (7)

• chills71
    15 years ago

yes, depending upon your climate (I'm not originally from Mi, so I'm not sure where Owosso is) and how much work you're willing to do to grow figs, it is possible.

I'm in Saint Clair Shores (which puts me North-east of Detroit, and north of Canada) and I have one fig in the ground and a number of figs in pots. The one in the ground needs to be protected each winter and the potted ones are brought inside and stored in a cold-preserving room off of my basement for the winter. There are a number of ways of protecting in-ground planted figs over-winter, and they all require a bit of work. Potted might be a good place to start if you have a place to keep the fig in the winter (an attached, unheated garage can be a viable option).

You'll find there are a few of us in this forum growing figs in Michigan (and at least one that I can recall in Chicago as well).

~Chills

• riverman777
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Sounds like the fig prefers a warmer climate I guess. I was hoping maybe for a hybrid perhaps that proformed well in colder climates. Maybe I should consider a native fruit tree. Thanks again. Do you know of a web resource for native michigan fruit trees that do well?

• chills71
    15 years ago

Have you ever heard of a pawpaw?

There are lots of fruit trees and shrubs that will grow well in Michigan.

Check the link for an option you probably aren't already familiar with!

~Chills