Return to the Fig Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
newbie here: help in identifying my figs

Posted by chdorr 8 (My Page) on
Mon, Aug 22, 11 at 0:31

Hey Folks,

Love what I've seen here! This is my first post, hope I'm not egregiously breaking protocol!

I live in Portland, OR, bought my house on '03 and it came with a very productive mature fig tree in the back.
The tree is anywhere from 10'-15' tall, canopy is probably 13' across.

In a typical summer it will be ripe and prime picking in mid-July. Last year it was last week in July. This year, right now (mid-August)...we just had our first 90+ degree day since last summer!

I've never know what our variety is, except that I never see it in stores or markets in the area. The outer flesh is always a light green, it does not brown on the vine. If picked and left on the counter for a few days, hey! Presto! Browning figs.

Inner fruit is light pink to purple, to rich purple depending on ripeness. Leaves are 3 or 5 lobed.

Pics are here if anyone would be so kind as to take a look and let me know what they think. My best guess is a Paradiso, but it sounds like there are a lot of variants under that umbrella.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/11440772@N08/sets/72157627489568718/detail/

Many thanks for any help that may come and for such a great fig resource here!

Chris

Here is a link that might be useful: Flickr fig pics

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: newbie here: help in identifying my figs

Dotatto/ Kadota ( American name)

o

Looks like Desert King to me. Is the fruit ripening on the new green growth from this year or on the dark wood from last year?

Joe

o

Joe u know better than me- it was the first thing that came to mind

o

Dominick,

If it's a breba crop then it's probably Desert King, but if not then could be Kadota or something else. The color of the skin and interior look like DK. And I doubt that I know more than you.

Joe

o

Desert King

o