Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rafed_gw

Pastiliere

rafed
9 years ago

I have been growing this fig for several years now and when it finally started to fruit a couple years ago they all dropped. I guess this cultivar is known for it.

It is also my understanding this will stop or slow down as the tree matures.

This year I am optimistic because the eyes (osteole) are turning red. This is something I did not see the last couple years.
Instead, they turned yellowish and dropped.

I will give it this season and one more, otherwise I will give it away to a relative that I know will not take care of it. This way I wont feel bad if they lose it. it's a win win. LOL
We shall see,,,

Please enjoy the pictures,

Comments (28)

• rafed
    Original Author
    9 years ago

The fruit turned yellowish and dropped*

• dieseler
    9 years ago

Rafed my ucdavis pastiliere cultivar did similar over the years and discarded.

Well knowledgeble person mentioned on a forum that this cultivar is only partially pathogenic and needed the wasp help for pollination.

Would only get several fully ripe figs each season even though the plant produced many more that would
    not persist.

Trialing Rouge de Bordeuax to see if it does the same but
    it was severely damaged past winter and sent up 1
    shoot at the base.

Martin

• rafed
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Martin

I guess I'll get rid of it then. No sense in wasting time and space.
    The Rouge De Bordeaux you gave me suffered a lot this past winter. But just woke up about a month or so ago. I will monitor it as well.

• ampersand12
    9 years ago

Hopefully you get some fruit, Rafed.

Martin, I thought Rouge dB was the same as Pastiliere?

Kelby

• dieseler
    9 years ago

Ampersand
    Baud mentions Rouge de Bordeaux
    as a syn to Pastiliere only readings i have come across that mentions that if memory serves correct but it's not as good as it used to be.