Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mgginva

the f4f forum

mgginva
9 years ago

I hope the folks leaving f4f will come here as I will miss them if they don't. I have not been posting here recently but will be in the future. I see a few old friends on here that have left f4f and hope I can contribute to the general community. I have a large collection but am in no way an expert. I will, however, try my best. Thank You.

Comments (103)

• dirtguy50 SW MO z6a
    9 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Howdy everyone. I am new to figs and have been looking at f4f and am confused about some of the posts of people naming figs. What is that all about? It is very confusing as it seems reputable folks post a name as unk and note similarities with a named fig. Then some of them on f4f have proclaimed themselves as experts and name them at will. This is very confusing for a newbie like me. I would appreciate your thoughts.

• cyberfarmer
    9 years ago

Hi Dirt Guy,

I think as long as the name is prefixed with Unk (Unknown), the person is not presuming to name the fig. Unknown means that we don't know what it is, but we need some way to refer to it. I have some trees that I call Unknown Anna's. I call it that because I got the cuttings from my mother's tree that she planted 40 years ago. She died 20 years ago, so I can't ask her what it is. It looks like a Verte or a Green Ischia, but I would be amiss if I assumed either one. I will probably never be able to identify beyond any doubt what it really is. If I just called it Anna's without Unknown, I would be giving a new name to what is probably already a named variety. That would be wrong.