Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tntrex

Cutting back celeste

tntrex
17 years ago

Hi, Went to the nursery to buy my first fig and they only sell ones about 4 ft. tall in a 5 gallon bucket and it is trimmed like a tree. One trunk about 1 inch in diameter. They told me I need a big tree like theses and to chop off the top and this is the only way to have figs here because the freeze kills the bushes. I just left confused. Is this correct? Again Im very new to this so I really appreciate the help! I live east of Dallas zone 8 if that helps.

Comments (6)

• palmfan
    17 years ago

My twin brother used to live in the Metroplex. His neighbor had a large fig tree with lots of fruit! I think you were told a lot of hogwash! That said, your area can be difficult for fruit production if you have a long winter warm spell, followed by a freeze. Plants start to grow in your area, only to be hurt by an arctic cold snap!
    My negative experience with Celeste tells me to warn you that fruit production in hot weather seems problematical with this cultivar. My Celeste fig trees are dropping most of their fruit, as usual. I have been told it is the heat. Of course, your weather is much more consistently hot than mine in extreme South Jersey. My type of Brown Turkey seems very adaptable in different climates. You may wish to contact me by e-mail for a cutting this winter.

• dangsr2
    17 years ago

About cutting the fig tree, about 20 years ago I planted 2 Fig trees my 1st experiance with figs. They were in pots and about 5 feet tall, and the man told me when I plant it to cut the top half off. I did and the next spring it took off growing and in 3 years it was loaded with figs and large enough that I had to climb it to reacg all the figs.I would trim it like he said and hope he is right.

• mountainman0826
    17 years ago