Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
laura441_gw

Fertilizing my trees

laura441
10 years ago

Hi! I am relatively new to the growing of figs and although my trees are doing relatively well, (except the one that has not fruited and the one my husband trampled ;-) I want to make sure I am doing everything I can for them. I usually apply a tree/fruit fertilizer in the spring and periodically apply compost from my compost pile that has chicken manure and pine shavings (from their coop) along with kitchen scraps. I have seen lots of you mentioning fish emulsion and Foliage pro, so I ordered both. My trees all appear healthy and two are bearing a good number of figs. My brown turkey recently sprouted more growth along with a bunch of new figlets, which is weird because I doubt that those baby figs will have time to ripen before the winter hits (I live in Maryland). How should I apply the fish emulsion and Foliage Pro? I just want to do what is best for them. I am afraid that giving them the manure a month ago caused all that additional growth. I hope it will not hurt the tree. Thanks for any help!

Comments (16)

• ahgrower Horne
    10 years ago

Hi Laura441,