Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jo_h_fe

Growth Stimulant Sprays

jo_h_fe
13 years ago

Hi to u all....

My name is Joe, a fig enthusiast from Canada. I have been growing figs in pots since 2004. This forum is great to learn because of the great expertise shared by you all...thanks.

I read in notes from Belclare Nurseries, they experimented with growth stimulant sprays on a San Pedro, purple/black fig called Perkounis. This fig only produced brebas. Upon spraying this stimulant on the eye of the female figs on a half point of a 28 day cycle, they obtained a main crop of figs, seven days later. They repeated this for several years in a row. Then stopped the spray on the fig and found out the fig tree adapted somehow to continue fruiting self-fertile figs henceforth.

Does anyone here know or can elaborate further the details of this and what are the names of the sprays mentioned. It is noted the sprays came Edible Landscaping (Afton, Virginia)

Any news would be appreciated...

Joe

Comments (14)

• dieseler
    13 years ago

Last season or season before that i called Edible landscaping asking for this spray as i was interested at the time.
    They told me they no longer sell it or use it.
    Its called Gibberellic acid spray.
    Gibberellic acid can be used to increase fruit set when pollination is incomplete. The fruit produced may be partly or entirely seedless. The application of gibberellic acid has increased the total yield of greenhouse tomatoes.

It also can increase seed germination amongst other things it is said.

Martin
    Ebay id
    Dieseler6z92

• jo_h_fe
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Martin thanks for the info....keep up w/ the fine picture work of your figs

Joe

• dieseler
    13 years ago

Hi Joe,
    if your able to get the spray online from a garden supply outfit and use it please one day post back about how and what the spray actually did for you.
    Im always curious about things like this.
    Thanks
    Martin

• cath41