Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
clairecathy

Not a Negronne

clairecathy
13 years ago

I just bought a fig (air-layered section) that I was told was a Negronne (Violette Bordeaux). When I got home and went on-line, I realized that it couldn't be a Negronne because the leaves are three-pronged and fat instead of 5 pronged and slender. (Please forgive lack of knowledge as to terminology. I'm a real newbie to gardening.) I am so disappointed as I needed a dwarf tree that could survive in a pot with a little morning sun only (in zone 10, Oceanside,CA) -- and who knows what I have here. (There are no returns at this nursery and, on the phone, the guy won't even listen to me.) Is there any simple and sure way of determining what fig I have? Thanks. Claire

Comments (9)

• thisisme
    13 years ago

Most figs have the kind of leaves you mention when they are young. It could be a Negronne. The leaves just may not show it until next season.

I would not buy from a local nursery that does not have a return policy.

• clairecathy
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks for this reassurance. I'm much relieved. I have two other questions which you or someone else may be able to answer. 1) The research I've done so far talks about two crops a year, but I haven't found anything specific as to which months of the year. There is a small green fig on the tree now and a couple of places that might indicate a fig is on the way (I'm too new at this to even know what I'm looking at.) When do you think I might see ripe fruit? 2) This plant is currently in a 15 gallon container. What would be the next size to go to and what season of the year is best for transplanting? Thanks. Claire

• thisisme
    13 years ago

Hi Claire, Many of my mature fig trees produce two to three crops a year.

There are two basic type of fig crops.

The Breba crop which is the first crop which is grown on last seasons wood and ripens in the Spring.