Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
janoyan

Oiling figs ?

janoyan
14 years ago

I am just learning about oiling of figs for the first time.

Would some one give us some details on the type of oil and the method of oiling and the taste of the ripe fruit. I take it this is a step in discouraging birds.Thanks.

Comments (11)

• gorgi
    14 years ago

I have heard of it before, but I never used it.
    From what I hear, it works (earlier ripening), but I
    also heard that figs, like wine, need their own TIME
    to reach the full potential (aka., a good-taste/flavour).

• ryne
    14 years ago

hi, i just did this with a black jack fig tree. i used it to quickly ripen my figs that were way behind schedule and would never make it otherwise. All i did was dip a round toothpick in extra virgin olive oil, and touch the eye of the figs with not even a full drop. the fig will sort of suck it in, as to seal the eye kinda. that's it. in 2 days i saw my black jack go from green to dark red to almost purple. it swelled up and i ate the first one today. it was delicious. IMO. no harm done to the fig(at least in my case) you're talking about a half a drop of oil if that. anyway, good luck and keep everyone posted on your oiling adventure.

• janoyan
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks Ryne for your info about oil treatment of figs. It sounds like you just discovered this technique. Where did you pick it up. I will give it a try as soon as this rain is gone and keep you posted.
    Best
    Janoyan

• ryne
    14 years ago

i picked it up here somewhere. as i said, it worked a miracle for me. i can only speak from my experience.i should be able to harvest a few more figs instead of trashing them. our summer in CT was not good. messed up a lot of people's plants. good luck.

• ingevald
    14 years ago