Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
andrew_scott77

Where can I find a Ronde de bordeaux fig tree?

Andrew Scott
12 years ago

This summer I really started a nice fig collection. I initially only wanted a Violette de bordeaux, but I was given Italian Beefera, Tena, Broad Leaf Black Jack, and Atreana. I was also given cuttings of Hardy Chicago(which I rooted 1 of) and Celeste. I haven't rooted any celeste yet but I will be here soon.

I really would like a Ronde de bordeaux but it seems like it will be hard to find. Trees of Joy has one on Ebay but it's over $100 and is quite small.

Can anyone suggest a seller who has them for a reasonable price?

Thanks,

Andrew

Comments (22)

• nypd5229
    12 years ago

Unless you find someone willing to trade, $100 is about the going rate.

• bettyd_z7_va
    12 years ago

What makes it so special? I am new at this and read from a poster in Zone 7b in NC that it is his wife's favorite.

Can it be rooted from cuttings?

I can't imagine coming up with $100 for a quite small fig on my income.

I'm in Zone 7 maybe 7a (not sure) in Central Va. The only fig I have is a Brown Turkey that is several years old and is finally producing enough good tasting figs to use some to bake with and still have some to eat straight off the tree. The fruit is on the small side.

I would like to find a fig tree, that is more affordable and produces larger, but tasty fruit.

I would really appreciate any information I can get.

Betty

P.S. One more question- What is a breba? Thanks

• Andrew Scott
    Original Author
    12 years ago

HEy nypd,
    WOW! I didn't realize they were so expensive! I did find a seller in PA that I am hoping will have it for much cheaper. I am also going to ask someone that I know who is growing one now. She is going to prune hers so hopefullyI can get one from her for much cheaper.