Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fignut

Weeping Fig Pictures

fignut
16 years ago

This is my first attempt posting pictures (Thanks to Peg for forwarding James' instructions).

This is an April view of my friends' tree. Note how the trunk is very upright, but the branches coming off it drop and then turn back up. It looks as if it would have been taller, but was cut back to two laterals.

The leaves are broad and simple

This is the tree in May. The leaves and figs are only borne on the tips of the branches.

Main crop figs forming above the breba crop in May

Main crop figs and almost ripe brebas in July. Note the tip bearing habit.

Another picture of almost ripe brebas in July

Top view and size reference of two brebas

Side view of the brebas

View of the eyes

Interior of the larger fig

These figs were about 50 grams, sweet and juicy. I don't usually peel my figs, but I found the skin to be a little too tough to eat.

This variety appears to root readily. I had some root in three days and all the cuttings took.

Hopefully my friends will send me a sample of the main crop figs also and I'll give an update at that point.

Comments (22)

• dutchfiggy
    16 years ago

Fignut, nice pictures and interesting fig tree.
    Do you know the variety name of this tree, you do not mention it.

Angeniet

• fignut
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Angeniet, I do not know the variety name. I got cuttings of this fig from friends, who in turn got it from their neighbor who moved and couldn't take the fig tree with him. The neighbor had purchased the tree - it was not a family heirloom.
    I had previously asked if anyone knew of any weeping figs, and got one response that a nursery had had a prostrate form (which this tree is not) which it had sold to someone in Connecticut.
    However, I think that the tree pictured above is very similar to a tree on the Belleclare web site captioned "Weeping Fig". It is the last tree in the top row in the "See Our Fig Orchard" link.