Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ryecooder

Soil Mixture

ryecooder
13 years ago

Hi can anyone point me to al's soil mixture. I am having a hard time finding it. thanks

Comments (23)

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    13 years ago

Follow the link below. Starting point recipes at the end of the post, but I'm not selling recipes, just the concept that a durable and well-aerated soil is something your plants will count as a blessing. ;o)

If you have specific questions, ask them there, or here. Someone, maybe me, will be along in a little while to offer a reply.

Best luck.

Al

• ryecooder
    Original Author
    13 years ago

You forgot the link :)

13 years ago

Lol - Doh!

Sorry.

Here is a link that might be useful: If you click me, I'll take you there now

• ryecooder
    Original Author
    13 years ago

• igor_sqa
    13 years ago

I just got some figs from figtrees.net in Boston. I live an hour away from Joe's greenhouse.
    I am a total newbee about figs, after speaking with Joe when I purchased three varieties of figs from him, (paradiso, black triana and marseille figs...(not sure about the spelling) and asking him about repoting them, he gave me an instruction care sheet. It said that for repoting use 3 parts potting mix and one part organic compost. From reading this forum, it seems to me that he is well respected grower and seller of fig trees with many years of experience.
    My question is, it seems that many people on this forum are using Al's mix. Is it that much better then using conventional mix like the grower suggests?

Looking forward to seing your responses and suggestions.

I don't have a preference toward one or the other, just trying to get some education before I repot this fall.

Thank you all for your inputs.

13 years ago