Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
meyermike_1micha

I have an Italian Honey fig and need advice about overwintering,

meyermike_1micha
13 years ago

This is my first time growing one of these and I would love any advice on what to do once in gets brought inside.

I do not know what kind of enviroment or light to provide for it.

I have a cool and very bright plant room with temps that get no lower than the 50'd during the coldest winter months.

I have two windows and a skylight in there, and someone told me they do not need the sun..Is this right?

Can I rest them in there in a bright spot?

Should I put it in my cellar which hovers into the 60's all winter, with very minimal light?

Should I bury them outside. I live in Mass with temps that get go below zero in winter..

I also have a shed that can get as cold as freezing and below, not heated with only one west facing window.

Any help will be so appreciated..

Much thanks!

Mike

Comments (25)

• herman2_gw
    13 years ago

My plants died in Shed from frosted roots,so shed is not a good ideea.
    Your places are not good to winter a fig tree.
    Bury it outside next to southern House or building,(shed) wall.
    When Buried,if outside temp.is 0F,4,inches under ground,is 20F.I sugest place some mulch over the spot where the fig is buried,or Bags of leaves,wich you will discard eventually in Spring,instead of Fall.
    If you are sure you will have snow cover(6inches)or more all the winter these measure are not necesary,because snow is the protection,but if not snow,one night will kill the plant.
    Weat, lives and grows under snow but dies,when snow is melted by warm days and then a cold day come on bare soil.

• foolishpleasure
    13 years ago