Return to the Fig Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Tying down branches to root new figs?

Posted by wertach 7 SC (My Page) on
Tue, Oct 11, 11 at 15:38

I did a search, got "not so good" results. I have a huge fig tree and it has set roots on many branches. They are too big to dig up, plus I'm lazy! LOL

I am thinking about tying some branches down to start some new trees. Can I do that now or should I wait until a different time of year? I would like to have some transplants next spring or fall that are easy to dig.

Also when should they be transplanted?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Tying down branches to root new figs?

• Posted by lukeott 7 south jersey (My Page) on
    Tue, Oct 11, 11 at 19:30

do a search on air layer. i'm new to figs so advice might not be right, but here goes. I would wait till next spring and do air layers. It takes 6 to 8 weeks to make new trees and by end of next year they will have good root system. I would wait for other suggestions from more experienced fig growers.

o

• Posted by tapla z5b-6a mid-MI (My Page) on
    Tue, Oct 11, 11 at 22:26

"...... has set roots on many branches."???? What does this mean?

The practice you're describing is called 'ground layering'. It's easy and virtually foolproof. I'll link you to something I didn't read, (but I looked at the pictures) :-) I don't know if it mentions this, but you'll get roots much faster if you remove the bark and expose cambial tissues on the lowest part of the layering - that would be directly under the brick on the underside of the branch you're layering.

See also 'stooling', which is also a near foolproof in-ground method of propagating multi-stemmed plants. If you're interested, I can give you a guide to how to employ stooling for figs & most other trees.

Al

Here is a link that might be useful: More on ground layering

o

"...... has set roots on many branches."???? What does this mean?"

The bottom branches have touched the ground and rooted by themselves.