Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
skulptor_gw

Pruning and propagating fig tree in the fall.

Skulptor
12 years ago

Hey Folks,

I'm new to this and am trying to do some research on making new fig trees from the one I have. It's about 5 years old and I "think" is a Brown Turkey. I live in So. East Indiana (by Cincinnati) and we have had a few frosts already this year. The last leaves just fell this morning.

The tree dies back every year and then comes back well, producing more figs every year. But this year, if it's not too late, I was wanting to cut it back to about 4' tall and try to propagate the cuttings as I REALLY like these things and want more! :) Plus, my 4 year old Blue Heeler (dog) likes them as well and has learned to pick and eat his own! :)

So my questions are: what do you folks think is the best way to winterize it(if it's not too late)?

I also read where late winter is the best time to take cuttings to propagate but is now ok as well?

What do you feel is the BEST way to propagate them this time of the year?

Thanx for all the help and a great place to learn!!

Chaz

Comments (10)

• katoland
    12 years ago

I propageted my Brown Tukey and White Genoa Fig tree by making a diagonal cut from one year old cuttings and placing them in well drained soil that is loamy with some fine mulch. As long as you keep it moist and not saggy, the roots will grow during the winter. I live in the central coast of California so I don't need to worry about freezing temperatures. If you live in a cold area and may experience a freezing forecast, then place the fig cuttings in a pot so you can bring them inside your house or garage.

• fernando_grow
    12 years ago