Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
stepandfetch

fig propagation

stepandfetch
14 years ago

First let me begin my first post by saying this is the finest fig forum on the internet.... I would be completely lost without it.

I love figs, and within the previous two months I have bought my first two trees- Celeste and an unusually tasty Brown Turkey.

Well, the last fig on my list for my piedmont, NC garden is a yellow/green fig. A friend of mine has a large yellow fig tree- it is most likely Kadota, but it could be Alma or Blanche.

Whatever it is, it produces very fine figs.

Unfortunately, he thought it was best to severely prune a fig tree every fall... and when I say severely prune, I mean cut it down to the ground. Once I found out about this, I immediately asked for cuttings. I ended up with over 12 tip cuttings- mostly from what was left at the stumps- suckers and last seasons low twigs that never saw the sun... (until now).

So.. this is my first attempt at propagating, and propagating earlier than recommended unfortunately....

I used fine perlite and sphagnum moss (not peat) for rooting medium. With a pair of scissors, I chopped the sphagnum into smaller pieces, and combined equal proportions of perlite and moss. I used clear plastic cups with 5-6 holes drilled into the bottoms.

With a sharp and clean razor blade, I about .5" off the bottoms- right below the lowest node/leaf site. I cut into the twig at a 45 degree angle and then thinly cut most of the skin off the cutting up about one inch from the bottom.

Now here is where I might have made a mistake.

For most of the cuttings, I dipped the bottom inch into rootone before planting in cups.

Since this was my first time and I had many cuttings, I made some variations to some of the cuttings to find what particulars work best.