Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
laura1_

speaking engagement

laura1
14 years ago

To anyone else who does speaking engagements with garden clubs:

I just want your take on this situation...and I want to vent!

I agreed to speak in November to garden club "A" on container gardening. This isn't my strongest program but I've given it a couple of times. This engagement was arranged by a 3rd party.

I get an email from Garden club A: they are so excited. They are responsible for getting the speaker for all the affilated clubs: A, B, C, D, E etc. for November and I am that speaker.

Cool???

NOT. This isnt' what I agreed to and my program (as is) is suited for smaller groups.

I don't want to be a b****h to this group and say something I'll regret. But I'm not happy either. I've left a message with the lady who arranges these things. It is not her fault but I thought she could give me some sound advice. Should I just suck it up and give the program??? Hey after all I'm a professional! sort of.

What do ya think?

Comments (5)

• imagardener2
    14 years ago

I'm a little confused after re-reading. Has club "A" booked you for a much bigger group than you originally thought?

I can understand your consternation, a small group is one thing but speaking to say 50-100 people requires more work and maybe powerpoint, slideshow, etc.
    You should be flattered but it has turned into more than you originally agreed to.

I have done public speaking so understand what the difference is. The person who engaged you may not understand, thinking there's no difference, a talk is a talk. But there is...

Denise

• laura1
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Yes...was supposed to speak to one club probably not more than 30. Now I'm supposed to speak to multiple clubs...100 plus.

• tropicalfreak
    14 years ago