Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nessz79_10a

How long will Whole seed potatoes/potato sets keep?

nessz79_10a
11 years ago

I'm still very new at vegetable gardening (and gardening in general, really). I ordered some Yukon Gold potato sets from Gurney's, hoping to get them soon and plan them soon. Unfortunately, I just got an e-mail that they won't arrive until at least 3/04. I am pretty sure that will be too late to plant in my zone. Is there any way I can keep them until the following January, or should I try to cancel that part of my order with them? Everything else will be arriving sometime next week.

Thanks!

Comments (6)

• inulover (9A Inverness, Florida)
    11 years ago

The UFL chart has the last date for central as Feburary and the southern as January. I would give it a shot if you are in the northern part of 10A, as long as you have spare room to experiment.

I was shopping for potato seed last fall and found that the big outfits have no idea when we should plant. They all want to ship way to late and they are not too good at special order shipping. I found left over 2012 seed that was available for immediate shipment from Natural Gardening. They were clearing them, so those are all gone now. I kept them in the fridg until last week. I will plant next week if my foot heals up enough to dig. They are starting to sprout quite nicely. I think that you could hold the seed until you fall planting time, but your fridg is meant for short term food storage rather than long term seed holding. They may not make it to September.

You might try an internet search for seed potato and look up some smaller organic outfits. You might get them to ship early, or hold back some seed for fall planting. I've had fantastic luck dealing with organic family farms. They have been genuinely interested in the oddball planting times we have this far South.

Larry

• shuffles_gw
    11 years ago