Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dirtyshoes_gw

What do you do for?

dirtyshoes
11 years ago

Black sooty mold on a mango tree?

I thought it was just because it is being shaded by a hickory tree at certain times of the day and was staying too moist.

I saw a program the other day that said it is caused by certain insects?

I washed down all the leaves and parts of the branches. It appears to be healthy otherwise and is blooming. It's a young tree so I don't want to take any chances of this mold problem killing it.

Thanks for your input.

Comments (10)

• mocropot
    11 years ago

Dirtyshoes, I am not an expert and may be it was not the right way of doing it but last year I had the same problem. At first, I did what you already done : washed all leaves and then used a Liquid Copper applications. The tree is healthy and blooming and I did not see the mold again. My tree is also very young.

• katkin_gw
    11 years ago

I've only used soap and water to wash away sooty mold myself.

• coffeemom
    11 years ago

You are right in that the mold is not the problem, it's the insects that secret honeydew. White fly is also a problem that covers plants with black gook.
    Best bet is to contact your local county extension office and find out what they recommend.A systemic pesticide would take care of the problem but would also end up in your fruit.
    You could spray 1 Tbs ivory soap + 1 Tbs oil to a gallon of water, but you would need to do it repeatedly.
    Good luck.

• dirtyshoes
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks everyone for your input.

Mocro, I'll look into the liquid copper. I'm glad your tree is doing well.

Katkin and coffeemom, if it reappears, I'll continue with the soap and water. I'd rather not get into using pesticides. Also, I'm going to check it today for the white fly you mentioned.

Coffeemom, how often would you spray the soap,oil, water solution?

• keiki
    11 years ago