Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
alicemagooey

Bougainvilla

alicemagooey
10 years ago

hello. I am totally new to this climate. I transplanted some bougainvillea plants in January, and fertilized them with Bougey fertilizer. Now they are Taking off!! But they are shooting out from the stems in all directions. New shoots look like " jack in the beanstalk weeds.." I have been reading and reading, trying to get a feel for these plants and this climate. But all I found is that they are usually pruned late spring.. / Early summer, after blooming. These are beginning to bloom..
MY QUESTION:
Can I prune off the straggly, long shoots (which come from the main stem) now, as long as my pruning is not a 'hard pruning',or will this action take the life from the plant.. And ruin its blooming cycle??

I will try and take a photo and attach it to this thread if need be.

Many thanks in advance
Alice

Comments (12)

• aputernut
    10 years ago

I prune mine anytime, never had a problem! I like to keep them shaped up always.

• alicemagooey
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks puternut (try that with spell check!ð³)

I will just go ahead and carefully do a bit of shaping. It is fascinating the way they grow. I went and spent some time this morning just thoroughly LOOKING at the plants and their growth habits(all new to me)..lovely ,

Thanks again
    Alice

• garyfla_gw
    10 years ago

Hi
    removed my last Bougainvillea around a couple of years ago. Beautiful but always demanded blood with each pruning and there's so much of it lol good luck gary

• aputernut
    10 years ago

Here's a pic. taken at Christmas, when one of mine, I call my snowflake tree is in bloom (perfect at xmas) you can see how I shape this one so it remains like a tree.

Here is a link that might be useful:

• leahrenee1
    10 years ago