Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
czfljo

Seed Question!

czfljo
11 years ago

How do you know what you can keep seeds from to grow seedlings again? Sounds like a stupid question but I'm getting confused! :) I was thinking about the parthenocarpic Corinto cucumbers that I just paid a pretty penny for.

The things you can save seeds from how long do you typically let them dry out before you can use them?

Thanks!

Jo

Comments (6)

• L_in_FL
    11 years ago

Seed saving is fun, and I am just getting into it myself. Now that I have some saved seed, I am having fun trading seeds with other gardeners. I am getting a great variety of seeds this way for less money.

But seed-saving techniques are different for different types of vegetable. You'll want to learn when the vegetable plant will flower, whether it crosses readily due to pollen spread by wind or insects, how to know when the seeds are ripe (many vegetables are picked before the seeds are mature, and others are harvested before the plants even flower), and how to clean and dry the seeds. The instructions for lettuce are really different than for tomatoes, for example.

You'll also want to know whether your plants are from hybrid seed. Hybrid (should say "hybrid" or "F1" in the variety name or description) won't breed true. The offspring of hybrids will be variable (different shape, size, color, flavor, disease resistance, etc.), but may still be good. Open-pollinated (OP) or heirloom vegetables, they should breed true, though some kinds need to be protected them from natural crosses due to insects or wind.

About parthenocarpic cucumbers: they are hybrids and won't breed true. Also, they won't even *have* seeds if they aren't pollinated. They tend to have most/all female flowers, so usually they can't be pollinated unless they get pollen from the male flowers of another type of cucumber. (Tom, please correct me if I am wrong about this.) So no, I don't think you can save true seeds from Corinto, sorry.