Return to the Florida Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Need low landscape shrubs 18' ht. and 30' ht.

Posted by strumhead 9 (My Page) on
Mon, Feb 6, 12 at 21:41

Hi Florida gardeners. I'm relatively new to the state and don't know a lot of the plants. I'm wondering if anyone could offer recommendations for low height landscape shrubs that are devoid of bad habits. I'm looking for some things that look nice most of the year. Flowering is not critical. If it blooms, that's fine, but mostly I want nice foliage. This could also be considered groundcover as long as it didn't spread excessively. I'm looking for one shrub that is easy to keep at 18" height and one that is easy to keep at 30" height. If that was their ultimate height--with no trimming-- that'd be great. Thanks for any recommendations.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Need low landscape shrubs 18' ht. and 30' ht.

Indian hawthorn

Here is a link that might be useful: Google Images - Indian Hawthorn

o

forgot to mention that I am in between Tampa and Lakeland.

o

Yep, I give a second on the Indian Hawthorn. There are a lot of different cultivars, and mature sizes vary from 2 feet (which would be easy to keep to about 18") to 6' or more. Be sure to check the mature size before you buy. Hawthorns are planted in medians, shopping centers, and such everywhere around here. Happiest in full sun.

Liriope also works for the 18" height. Not a shrub but an ornamental grass. Its mature height is about 18", so no trimming would be needed. I wonder if it would be happier in partial shade that far south, though? Note that Liriope muscari does not spread much, but Liriope spicata does. Muscari has purple bloom spikes in spring, dark berries in fall and winter.

o Post a Follow-Up

Please Note: Only registered members are able to post messages to this forum.

If you are a member, please log in.

If you aren't yet a member, join now!

Return to the Florida Gardening Forum

Information about Posting