Return to the Florida Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Building the soil food web...in sandy Seffner..

Posted by greenepastures 9 (My Page) on
Wed, Mar 19, 14 at 10:01

I'm new to all this (only 2 years experience) and I'm told the best way to maximize yield and vegetable quality is to build the soil food web. I'm hoping to get this done without any contributions from anything in a bag (except maybe lime, azomite and bone meal).

I've got dairy cow manure (mostly fresh when I pick it up), lots of leaves, wood ashes, quality compost and plenty of time (well let's say six months). I'd like to plant my fall crops in this bed.

Is there some secret to doing this or can I just till all this stuff into the sandy soil and let nature take it's course?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Building the soil food web...in sandy Seffner..

Trenches or hugelkultur sound like they might interest you.

o

Sorry Kitten...wifey would have none of it. Too messy for our subdivision. Any other ideas?

o

Bio char. Be sure to charge it first.

Here is a particularly interesting link to 5 hours of videos. I've watched the first two and part of three and am definitely buying some activated charcoal for my fall garden.

Here is a link that might be useful: Bio char uses, history and manufacturing.

o

Fresh cow manure is hardly dense subdivision-friendly, how do you get away with that?

Layering is messy, true, but is by far the best way to build long-term fertility. We have some success in florida sand by tossing some amendments like azomite, humate, lime out on the sod, then cover with cardboard and some kind of mulch (which could include fresh-ish manure, grass clippings, wood chips, etc.). After six months or so one can start to peel the somewhat decomposed layers back for planting.

o